Ready, Set, Garden!

Spring may not be here officially yet, but that is not going to stop me from starting up my garden. Despite some last minute snow a week ago, the weather has been wonderful and I have been out in my garden getting things ready.

Plans for this year include some exotic peppers, some non-edible crops, and two new raised beds, which are all built and anchored. I even took it a step up and made an L-shaped raised bed for the front of my property using the same pallet technique I used to build my other raised beds. I only made them one piece of wood tall this time, as I did with the other raised beds I made last summer and did not blog about. So now I have a whole bunch of raised beds on the south side of my property, and one on the southwest corner in the front yard.

20160312_152018

New gardening real estate.

What do I plan to stick in these beds? Well, here’s the list:

  • Cucumbers
  • Inca Red Drop Peppers
  • Broccoli Raab
  • Bok Choy
  • Pumpkins
  • Cascade Hops

I am excited about the peppers and the hops. The peppers are a variety I found when I went down to Miami in January. I was there for business at a hotel which had wonderful food. These little sweet peppers were in nearly every dish. I got some seeds from Etsy, and I am just waiting for them to grow. I don’t have the best luck with planting things from seed, but hopefully this year will be different. The hops are for my cousin, whom I am vicariously home brewing with. I’m going to grow him hops and he will turn them into beer, which I will get to drink. Seems like a good deal, and it was an excuse for more gardening fun. I built the L-shaped bed for the hops, and plan to add some pretty garden arches to the bed to help with the 10 foot vines that the hops are supposed to produce.

I’ve done all my veggie gardening prep, now I just have to wait. In the interim, I am going to plant daffodils inside the L of the raised bed and add fertilizer to my hydrangea, which is already budding. Next big thing to do is replace all the mulch in my flower beds.

 

 

Leave a Reply

