Baby, It’s Cold Outside…

Happy Polar Vortex! Or not. No, really, not. It is fracking COLD!!! Right now, it is 5ºF in Baltimore. With the wind chill, it is -17ºF. BRRR! It is also windy; when I left for work today, my large iron fire wood holder, filled with maybe about 1/3 cord of wood, was moved about 2 feet by the wind.

Neither the arctic weather or the roaring winds are good for my poor little house. Being 79 years old, it has some issues, one of which is the fact that some of the windows appear to be original. All the windows in the front of the house are new, but the rest of them are still wood. The windows in the basement are especially bad. This leads to cold air flooding into the house and increasing my energy bill by ridiculous amounts. Since right now I cannot afford to replace windows, I have to do something to stop the cold from coming in.

Over the last two days, I did the cheapest (and somewhat ghetto) thing I can think of and covered all the old windows with contractor’s plastic and masking tape. I can see the plastic bubbling in and pulling out as the wind blows. It is quite worrisome. The wind was so bad last night that one of the sets of mini-blinds in the craft room was pushed down by the wind blowing on the plastic! Despite looking weird and billowing, the plastic has already made a difference in the house. It feels warmer and I was even able to lower the heat by a few degrees last night and still feel comfortable. w00t!

I have also started sewing curtains for the windows with the hopes that the drapes will keep out any remaining draft that the plastic cannot hold back. Once done, I will post them. I also made a fleece cover for the ferret cage. Right now, the cage sits in an alcove in front of one of the bedroom windows, so it gets drafty. The fleece covers the back, top and sides of the cage, so I hope that helps the little fuzzbutts stay warm, in addition to their fuzzy-lined sleeper sacks.

Leave a Reply

