Overwhelmed

Image

I have owned a house for two weeks now. That is not long at all, especially when you consider that I was gone on a trip for five of those days. But for some reason my over achieving brain feels like I should have more accomplished.Pretty much every day since I got home from my trip on Monday has consisted of going to work, going to Home Depot/Walmart/Target to pick up home improvement stuff, doing home improvement stuff and then going to bed. I love doing the stuff, don’t get me wrong, but I am getting a bit overwhelmed with the amount of stuff that needs to be done in addition to the unpacking. For example, here are a list of things that need to be done in the kitchen alone:

  • Fix garbage disposal
  • Fix dish washer
  • Unpack pantry items and rest of dishes
  • Build plant shelf for window
  • Replace curtain rod
  • Put up artwork
  • Redo backsplash
  • Thoroughly clean range vent
  • Figure out what to do with warped counters
  • Replace knobs on doors to kitchen
  • Figure out why under-cabinet light will not work after replacing bulb
  • Thoroughly clean fridge

I know some of these items are really tiny and should only take a few minutes, but there are so many of them that I am starting to panic just a bit. There are also large large projects to do, like painting the ugly out of the house. I know it is my house and I have as long as I wish to get these things done, but (as I have mentioned several times already in this blog) I am impatient and I want everything done NOW. I could also use a hand with things but much like my life, my friend’s lives are crazy hectic too nowadays. 

I need to organize and prioritize things. I am a master list writer, so I think my next entry might be just that- a master list of things that need to be done, prioritized and put into a timeline. Yes, I am that neurotic. And yes, I will probably write it all on newsprint and make a checklist for home. But I will hopefully get everything done without pulling out my hair. 

Leave a Reply

